AINSE Gold Medal

The AINSE Scholar Gold Medal recognises excellence and impact in research by postgraduate and early career researchers supported by AINSE.

AINSE Scholar Gold Medal Recipients

YearRecipientMember Organisation
2020Stephanie Anna FlorinThe University of Queensland
2019Cynthia IsleyMacquarie University
2019Gabriel MurphyThe University of Sydney
2018Lydia MackenzieThe University of Queensland
2015Emily ReynoldsThe University of Sydney
2014David CortieThe University of Wollongong
2014Nisa SalimDeakin University
2014Robert HayesThe University of Newcastle
2013Joel PedroUniversity of Tasmania
2013Arthur SmithThe University of Queensland
2012Kateryna BazakaJames Cook University
2011Mark PaskeviciusCurtin University
2010Sharth SriramRMIT University
2009Paul SainesThe University of Sydney
2007Andrew WroeThe University of Wollongong
2006John DanielsMonash University
2004Gianluca PagliaCurtin University
2003Iwan CorneliusThe University of Wollongong
1999Darren GoossensMonash University
1998IsmunandarThe University of Sydney
1997Katrina FrankcombeUniversity of Tasmania
1996Jarrod MartinThe University of New South Wales
1995Scott WalkerRMIT University
1994Xing Sheng LiCurtin University

AINSE Gold Medal Recipients

YearRecipientMember Organisation
2020Prof. Neil SaintilanMacquarie University
2015Prof. George CollinsSwinburne University of Technology
2015Prof. Ian GentleThe University of Queensland
2007Prof. Stewart CampbellThe University of New South Wales
2005Dr. Shane KennedyANSTO
2003A/Prof. Brendan KennedyThe University of Sydney
1999Prof. James CamakarisThe University of Melbourne
1998Prof. Ian McDougallThe Australian National University
1997Dr. Trevor HicksMonash University
1996Prof. Andrew GleadowLa Trobe University
1995Dr. Peter PomeryThe University of Queensland
1995Prof. James O’DonnellThe University of Queensland
1995Dr. David HillThe University of Queensland
1994Prof. Len LindoyJames Cook University
1993Prof. Don NapperThe University of Sydney
1993Prof. Bob GilbertThe University of Sydney
1992Prof. Syd HaydonThe University of New England

AINSE Scholar Gold Medal Nominations

The AINSE Scholar Gold Medal is awarded for impact and excellence in research by postgraduate students and early career researchers on the basis of publications that acknowledge AINSE and ANSTO support. 

Nominees for awards are submitted to the AINSE Council by the AINSE Specialist Committees for consideration at the final AINSE Council Meeting of the calendar year. At the presentation of the medals, the newly-awarded Gold Medallists are invited to deliver an address on their research.

View more AINSE Awards and Scholarships

Nominations open: year-round
2022 Nominations Close: 11.59pm AEDT Wednesday 31st August 2022

Completed nomination forms should be emailed to

For best results, please use Adobe Acrobat Reader or Acrobat Pro to complete the nomination form.


The Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE Ltd.) is an integral organisation for enhancing Australia’s and New Zealand’s capabilities in nuclear science, engineering, and related research fields by facilitating world-class research and education. 

AINSE offers a range of programs and services to its members, including generous domestic and international conference support, scholarships for honours & postgraduate students and Early Career Researchers, and intensive undergraduate education schools. These benefits aim to foster scientific advancement and promote an effective collaboration between AINSE members and ANSTO.

We respectfully acknowledge the Dharawal nation as the traditional custodians of the land on which AINSE is located.

Contact us     |     Copyright    |     Privacy Statement

Copyright © 2019 AINSE | Powered by Astra

Font Resize