## AINSE Postgraduate Research Awards

## Postgraduate Research Scholars Awarded 2009

Title	First Name	Surname	Uni	Project Title
Ms	Gloria	Xun	AKL	Characterising antimicrobial protein-membrane complexes by neutron reflectometry
Mr	Torsten	Witt	QLD	Tertiary starch structure and improving human nutrition
Mr	Ross	Whitfield	ANU	Understanding nanostructure in lead-containing piezoceramics
Mr	Hugh	Simons	NSW	Simulation of cyclic fatigue in lead-free piezoelectric ceramics
Mr	Jan-Yves	Ruzicka	CAN	Low temperature synthesis of well-ordered titania nanoparticles for applications in green catalysis
Mr	Craig	Motbey	SYD	Assessing the neuroinflammatory consequences of adolescent drug and alcohol exposure
Ms	Connie	Liu	SYD	Surfactant templated biomineralisation
Ms	Jessica	Hudspeth	ANU	Plasma deposition techniques for proton exchange membrane fuel cells
Dr	Nishar	Hameed	DEA	Nanostructure design and toughening mechanisms in thermosets using reactive block copolymers
Ms	Wye Khay	Fong	MON	Correlating the nanostructure of stimuli responsive liquid crystal systems with drug release behaviour in vitro and in vivo
Mr	John John Ferris S	Dawson cholar	JAM	Carbonate sediment age, distribution and reef island accretion indicated by age and taphonomic studies of benthic foraminifera
Ms	Claire	Courtney	NSW	Testing the Australian megatsunami hypothesis
Mr	Christopher	Constable	SYD	Factors affecting quantification in positron emission tomography for radiopharmaceuticals with mixed neuronal and non-neuronal signals
Dr	Anthony	Chesman	MON	Determination of magnetic ordering in transition metal, lanthanoid and 3d/4f heterometallic discrete complexes
Ms	Jessica	Chadbourne	SYD	Hydrogen storage and negative thermal expansion properties of novel cyanide-bridged coordination frameworks
Mr	Josh	Brown	MAC	Electronic and magnetic properties of rare earth nitride thin films
Mr	Patryck	Allen	SYD	Coupled structural and property studies of the phase transformation behaviour of environmentally friendly Pb-free piezoceramics