AINSE Specialist Committees

AINSE specialist committees give a strong focus in the following disciplines by providing ongoing advice on research, evaluation of applications for AINSE awards, and review of progress reports.

Archaeology, Geosciences and Environmental Sciences

Applications in this area would be expected to advance knowledge in any of the branches of archaeology, geosciences or environmental sciences. Applications may be made for AMS studies, PIXE/PIGE or NAA characterisation of materials to support the aims of the project. Understanding problems based in environmental science could include dating using 210Pb and 14C, the analysis of natural processes, experiments on organic or inorganic materials, or the biota.

Dr Craig Sloss – Convenor Queensland University of Technology
A/Professor Paul Augustinus The University of Auckland
Dr Michael-Shawn Fletcher The University of Melbourne
Dr Greg Skrzypek The University of Western Australia
Dr Agathe Lise-Pronovost La Trobe University
Dr Lynda Petherick Victoria University of Wellington
Dr Dioni Cendon Sevilla ANSTO
Dr Henk Heijnis ANSTO


Biotechnology and Biomedical Sciences 

Applications in this area would be expected to support research into diagnostic and therapeutic nuclear medicine, radiobiology, experimental radiation oncology, and radiation effects on biological materials.

Professor Elena Ivanova – Convenor RMIT
A/Professor Michael Hay The University of Auckland
Dr Ingo Koeper Flinders University
Dr Benjamin Blyth Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
Dr Mark Tobin ANSTO (Australian Synchrotron)
Dr Ben Fraser ANSTO
Dr Guo Jun Liu ANSTO


Materials Science and Engineering

Applications in this area will involve the study of the structure of materials at an atomic or molecular level involving instruments including x-ray scattering and reflectometry, electron microscopy and NMR. Applications concerning the study of soft condensed matter e.g. proteins and membranes are considered by this committee, as are those concerning hard condensed matter e.g. magnetic materials. The study of the properties and composition of engineering and inorganic materials; surface modification, surface characterisation and surface properties; advanced materials processing; specialist techniques in materials characterisation; materials testing, bulk and local materials properties; and effects of radiation on materials.

Professor Gary Bryant (c) – Convenor RMIT University
A/Professor Aleks Nikoloski (c) Murdoch University
Professor Mihail Ionescu The University of Melbourne
Professor Lyndon Edwards ANSTO
A/Professor Graham Saunders The University of Waikato
Dr Victor Streltsov The University of Melbourne
Dr Ludovic Dumee Deakin University
Dr Stephen Holt ANSTO


(c) = AINSE Council Member